Skip to content

The Criminal, The Crusader and the CEO

October 23, 2013

“There’s no truth to those rumors.” He smiled. “They’re just rumors.” He rubbed her cheek with the back of his hand.

“Oh, Curt,” she swooned. “Tell me you love me.”

“I do, Christine. I do.”

Curt wrapped his arms around Christine kissing her deeply.

I did it. The end of chapter one. Two hours and I’m already done with a whole chapter. Was it too hokey? I mean, it’s clear, right? Curt’s lying to her. He never actually tells her he loves her. He just says “I do”.  I’m not really sure how to start chapter two. Maybe I should start with the setting. The bedroom, maybe.

Chapter 2

The morning sun entered softly through the open curtains. Christine snuggled against Curt’s warm body. A bird chirruped outside the window. The serenity of the cozy cocoon between the sheets was shattered by the sound of Curt’s phone ringing loudly.

“Curt’s a liar, Charles.”

“So you and him are over?” Charles stepped closer to Christine.

“He betrayed me.”

Charles was inches away from Christine. The air smoldered between them.

“I won’t betray you.”

Charles tore his glasses off and wrapped his arms around Christine, kissing her deeply.

Bam. Another chapter done. This thing is writing itself. I hope Christine isn’t coming off as too easy. I mean that’s why I took all the time to explain the history between her and Charles. Jean Luc hasn’t even shown up yet.

Chapter 4

Christine was in her office. She stared at the city but she could only see Charles. She was pulled from her reverie by the sound of knuckles on the jamb of her door. There stood a man in an Armani suit that hugged his compact muscular form. His dark hair framed his head like a lion’s mane. His eyes were icy blue and his attention was fierce. Christine flipped her hair.

“Can I help you?” she asked.

“I’m Jean Luc Perrault,” he smiled with swagger. “I’ve just bought the firm.”

“Well, you sure talk about him a lot.”

“He’s my boss, Charles.”

“It’s only natural to have feelings for someone in a position of authority.”

“Ugh,” Christine wrinkled her nose. “I don’t have feelings for him. Jean Luc is too manly. He’s like a creature.”

“I’ll fight him if I have to,” Charles said grimly.

He pulled Christine to him, kissing her pointedly, passionately.

Might need to revisit this chapter. Can’t have a whole chapter without any sex scenes. Readers would have a fit. My publisher would have a fit.

Chapter 7

Jean Luc Perrault sat in the leather chair behind his mahogany desk. He was concentrating deeply, reading legal briefs when Christine slipped into the room. He smiled salaciously when he saw her sneaking towards him.

“Jean Luc, we have to talk.”

“Talk can wait.”

“I snuck in past your secretary.”

“Ooh. I like it,” he said, standing up. “Clandestine.”

“I don’t want Charles to find out.”

“I want to see you naked,” he said.

He pulled her to him and kissed her deeply. She pushed him away turning her head dramatically.

“We have to stop,” she said. “I don’t want to hurt Charles.”

“He can join us if you would like,” Jean Luc said. “I would put up for a lot for you.”

“Oh, Jean Luc,” Christine stopped resisting and he pulled her close.

“It’s so great to be able to talk to someone about all this,” Christine said. “I’ve missed you, Curt.”

“I’ve really missed you too.”

Their eyes locked and the coffee shop disappeared. Christine’s heart was pounding as she stared into his eyes. He held her hand and matched her gaze.

Ten chapters. That’s about enough right. Now I’ve got to decide who she ends up with. Too bad there’s no such thing as a three-sided coin. Who would you pick? No. That never works. I always make the wrong choices in life. But wouldn’t it be great if the wrong choices were the right ones? If you knew that choosing Jean Luc would end in happiness and not sizzling ennui? She’s got two chapters to decide.

Chapter 11

Christine looked at her phone. It was from Jean Luc.

“Where are you?” his text message demanded.

“I just want to be alone,” she wrote back.

His reply was instantaneous.

“Like hell you do. I need to see you.”

Christine sighed and stared at her phone. Curt shifted on the bed.

“Who’re you talking to?”

“It’s Jean Luc. He needs the Pressman files.” She threw back the covers and Curt watched her naked stomp to the computer.

Charles threw the tumbler against the wall, shattering glass and whiskey everywhere.

“He lied to you, Christine!” he shouted.

Christine let loose a cry and he embraced her.

“I can’t lie to you,” he said fiercely. “I love you.”

She studied his face. His eyes glistened earnestly.

OMG. I can’t believe I’ve written twelve chapters. Book finished. Just one more chapter to go. I’m excited to see how it ends… Well, I know how it ends. Christine’s dreams come true and she lives happily ever after. I just don’t know how.

Chapter 12

Jean Luc Perrault had a few days worth of stubble on his face. He sat at his desk, holding a darkened phone in his hand. The door flew open and Charles stomped in. His face was red with rage.

“Where is Christine?” he demanded.

“Can I offer you a drink, Charles?” He held up a swirling glass of bourbon.

“It’s ten in the morning. Where the hell is Christine?”

“I thought she was with you,” Jean Luc slurred. “Have you asked Curt?”

“She wouldn’t.”

“They have a history, Charles.”

Charles looked bitterly disappointed.

“Maybe you’re right. Stay away from her, Perrault, or I swear to god I’ll—I’ll—”

Jean Luc chuckled and raised his glass.

“To love,” he said.

“I mean it, Charles,” Christine said, swirling the hairs on his chest with the end of her finger. “I’ve broken it off with Curt for good. I only want you.”

“And what about Jean Luc?” He grabbed her breast.

She moaned.

“He’s a Neanderthal with gel in his hair,” she sighed

“And it’s over between you?” He nibbled her ear.

“I only want you,” she whispered.

She pulled him close and kissed him deeply.

The End

Thirty thousand words and she picks the boring one. My characters are too true-to-life. At least the sex is good. That’s all that really matters in these kinds of books anyway. I’ll give it the once over and then—click!—it’s off to the publisher.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

