Skip to content

Oyster

May 17, 2013

I feel like an oyster, ingesting some irritant. It rolls around inside me as I mull it over. An oyster can hope that the result of the irritant is a radiant pearl, but in my case the result is usually a clump of misshapen words, a mystifying mass of letters and punctuation.

I write to gain some perspective on the world and perhaps gain some insight into myself. If I translate my thoughts into some form that I can see, perhaps they will make more sense. Maybe by filtering the world around me into readable text, I will begin to see a pattern emerge and things won’t seem so random and meaningless.

Of course, that doesn’t always happen. More often than not, I find that I am not able to translate abstract thought into linear ideas. Sometimes it takes months or years for me to find the pattern I was attempting to delineate. It takes a lot of time to understand life. I feel like I have a very long way to go to finding that understanding.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2013 2:36 pm

    If you don’t look the surprise is much better when you stumble across it. 😉

  2. May 17, 2013 8:28 pm

    you might be trying to be too complex and simplifying may help. many things reduce to an image, or an argument.

Leave a Reply

