Skip to content

Life Is Grand

April 19, 2013

I had written a long post for this week. It was a rambling, angry essay. I ranted about the world and how messed up everything seems to be. All the bile and disgust poured out on to the page. I saved it on Tuesday and went to work, intending to post it on Wednesday. Wednesday came and I didn’t feel so angry anymore, sad but not angry. I decided I would wait one more day.

Yesterday, Thursday, I spent my day off alone. I started the day in bed, sipping tea and reading comic books. I read two collections of “Birds of Prey” written by Gail Simone. It was a good way to start the day. I felt happy. I had lunch at one of my favorite restaurants and read a P.G. Wodehouse. I spent the afternoon learning to play old songs on my banjo. I ended the day back in bed with Wodehouse. It was a good day. I forgot my anger and sadness for a while.

It just reminded me of how often we forget about the good things that are happening right in front of us. The little things that seem so unimportant but end up being the very things that make life worth living: a good book, a good song, or a funny joke. Just the very fact that I have the time and safety to enjoy these things is reason enough to be happy. Not everyone lives so grand a life.

Often times I will find myself saying things like, “When such-and-such happens, then I will be happy,” or “Once this event has passed then things can return to normal.” The problem with thoughts and statements like this is that happiness is not a sustained state of mind. There is no normal. There will always be drama and conflict in life. It would be pretty drab if there was not. Rather than waiting for happiness to approach, choose to appreciate what you have. Remember how much you enjoyed your breakfast; enjoy that stolen half hour of comic book reading on your lunch break; treasure that cup of tea that speeds you through the comic misadventures of Psmith. The tiny things that seem so commonplace make a warming quilt of happiness.

 

Magnified Whisper: Home of the Labored Metaphor

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2013 6:08 am

    That last sentence… Yummy
    The post…. I’m feeling ya

Leave a Reply

