Skip to content

Ladies’ Night

February 21, 2013

Well, dear reader, I would like to apologize. I’m sure you have come to slog through another of my foggy ramblings with an endless repetition of platitudes. There will be no such post this week. I figured it would be fun to share a few songs instead.

First one is from Laura Nyro. You have probably never heard of her. I haven’t met many people that have. But it’s a sure bet you’ve heard one of her songs at some point. The Seventies vocal group The 5th Dimension covered a number of them. The most popular is probably “Wedding Bell Blues”.  She was an amazing singer, pianist and songwriter. This song is called “Time and Love” from her album “New York Tendaberry”. I can’t get enough of this song and the album is just as good. It is epic and intimate, accessible and personal. I can’t recommend it enough:

Next is a song by the folk/rock group Hem. I have yet to hear a song of theirs I didn’t like. The singer Sally Ellyson has such a beautiful voice. It is ethereal and unpretentious. They are a group that seems to understand the value of simplicity, the wholesome goodness of analog instruments and the beauty that is revealed when people join together in common purpose. The song is called “Stupid Mouth Shut” and is from the album “Rabbit Songs”. (In the comments section under the video on Youtube, a user has commented “Best album of all time”, a sentiment that, while it may be hyperbolic, I would have to agree with. It is definitely one of the best.)

Finally, it’s Nina Simone. I have only recently become acquainted with her music. She is truly amazing. All that I could say about her is easily summed up by watching the following video of her performance of Bob Dylan’s song “The Ballad of Hollis Brown”.  She is powerful and passionate; a beautiful example of a strong woman who is not to be trifled with.

That video is taken from this concert in Holland. If you have a spare forty minutes, you won’t regret watching it. I put it on one night while I was doing some writing. I couldn’t get any writing done; I was so absorbed by her charisma and talent.

Anyway, hope you enjoyed the music.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

