Skip to content

From The Gates

August 30, 2012

I won’t subject you to a long-winded, rambling post this week. Just a song today that Matt and I recorded a few weeks back. He’s in a band on occasion. I have been learning to play the banjo. I’m not very good at it though. It is funny with instruments. You see professionals playing and think, “I would like to do that. It doesn’t look that hard.” You don’t think of the years and years of practice it has taken for this person to make it look so effortless. I remember meeting a banjo player when I was younger. When I told him how great I thought he was (and he was!) he humbly replied that it simply came down to having played for so long. Though I believe that much of art is a result of innate ability, I’ve discovered he was right. The banjo, and indeed all instruments (or art for that matter), is not just something you can pick up and play. I mean, you could but it wouldn’t sound all that great. It is all about practice. The good thing about practicing music though is that you can do it with other people and whether or not you sound like masters, you will most certainly have fun doing it. I think it is one of the funnest things in the world, creating collaboratively. I would highly recommend it. Learn an instrument and play with your friends. I guarantee you will have fun.
Anyway, the song is called “From The Gates”. Matt named it and I don’t really know what he meant, but it seemed to fit. I picture it as accompaniment to heading out on the road away from the gates of the city, the promise of the unknown. Anyway, hope you like it. Next week I will be back to my long-winded rambling self.

By the way, the painting on my souncloud profile is called “The Maze” by James Jean. You can see more of his amazing work at jamesjean.com

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2012 2:40 pm

    Sounds really cool. Spoons, banjo, harmonica? I´ll add you on soundlcoud too. I have a few tunes up there.

    • September 27, 2012 7:48 pm

      Thanks! It’s a melodica which I like because it was cheap and not too hard to play.

Trackbacks

  1. Bad Party « magnifiedwhisper
  2. On Aging | magnifiedwhisper

Leave a Reply

